Happy Friendship Day………NOT!

2 Aug

I started receiving Happy Friendship Day messages since 9pm on 31st July 2010 and I dint even know Friendship Day was coming up. Initially it was okay but suddenly around 12, my inbox got flooded with names I had long forgotten. Wishing Happy Birthday or Happy New Year at 12am is okay…but beyond that NO its not. Specially not if you send shayari or song lyrics to celebrate my friendship. I mean isnt it wierd reading – Thanks a lot for being such a wonderful friend and always being there for me when I needed you. You have the most specialest place in my heart that guarantees you my support and shoulder even when the whole world is against you. Tu hai toh I’l be alright..! – and then wondering : Who the hell is this?! (This is not an exact message but the general sentiment that such sms’s are meant to convey.)

I appreciate your enthusiasm and concern (?) for my friendship but honestly if it wasn’t for the free messaging, would you bother? I am not against the sentiment of friendship..infact I love it when good friends wish each other Happy Fraanship Day. This is where you should ask me (or yourself)  : ‘Who is a Good friend ?’

Firstly this Good isn’t the one like Good friend – Bad friend. I don’t mean the person is good or bad. I mean how close he/she is to me.  ‘Good Friend’ is someone who :

  • Doesn’t let me feel uncomfortable if we happen to talk after long.
  • Feels excited at the thought of meeting me.
  • Always has something to talk about.
  • Finds me funny, talented and smart.
  • Is not hesitant to clear misunderstandings.
  • Remembers important days (like birthday ) without the help of facebook.
  • Doesn’t ignore my efforts to be in touch.
  • And most most important – reads this blog religiously.

It was the ultimate status symbol in school to have the maximum number of bands on your wrist. Never mind those friendship bands were mostly left over rakhi’s or just pieces of ribbon. I would tie bands to people just to ensure that I have enough bands to show-off at the end of day. The real pretty ones were kept exclusively for extremely special friends. So the bracelet sorts went only to max 2-3 people. They had to be hidden from teachers and tied/given to friends secretly in interval or at the chutti time. I have saved a lot of those bands as a memory from the past but now the thought of receiving or giving a ‘band’ makes me *shudder*. Don’t know why. Have I become old? I guess I would rather prefer that people be nice to me even behind my back, make me feel valued or help me when I need it the most (like exams) Clichéd as it sounds but, we don’t need a day to celebrate friendship yaar!

Best is when elders wish you Happy Friendship Day. Parents, uncles, aunties, cousins etc etc. Older generation I tell you. How am I supposed to react?! Today I went to a bank and there I saw the friendship ribbons (cant get myself to call them bands) on the hairy wrist of this full grown, otherwise sensibly dressed man who I think was a member of staff. Dude!

Frankly  I don’t even know WHY do we have a Friendship Day. There is some story I remember reading about 2 friends dying in US on the same day in 2 consecutive years but so what???! Here is thanking everyone who wished me Happy Friendship Day. I will say – Same to you. But next year, sit back and think for a moment before you include my name (or our name…the fellow blogger happens to fully agree with what I think) in the bulk messaging :-)


6 Responses to “Happy Friendship Day………NOT!”

  1. Aparna August 21, 2010 at 5:22 am #

    Things and rules change from one place and school to another.At one particular school the teachers had to be on toes from a day before and start searching bags and pockets of students.Present school has a lot of NRI crowd.We actually celebrated and encouraged students to celebrate.More restrictions more rebellious…..

  2. babaji August 12, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    amazing thoughts. keep it up.

    • chilicheesetoast August 14, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      wao! finally you are here :) so good to have a technologically updated babaji..

  3. Devil's Advocate August 2, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    I like your list about who is a “good friend.” So, the best thing you can do on this so called “friendship day” is to call a friend you have not contacted in a long time. Talk to them, don’t send them an email.

    Most of these “days” that are sprouting like mushrroms are generally a waste of time. I just wish they didn’t exist or that we didn’t follow them in India.

    • chilicheesetoast August 4, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

      u wish WE dint follow in India?? ye sab fasad ki jadd united states of america hi hai.

      • Devil August 7, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

        Are you implying that I live in the United States?

        Even if so, agar jhagde ki fasad United States hai, to hum kyon paglon ki tareh unke peeche bhaagte hain? India ab India kum, United States zyada lagta hai. Is ke upar kuch “blaag” mein likhiye.

        Aabhaar!

Leave a Reply

